Which parks will be affected by the new hunting legislation?

4 July 2013, the NSW Government announced it will trial recreational hunting in 12 national parks (not yet known). Once the trail has taken place and a report goes back to cabinet, it intends to consider rolling out recreational hunting in 75 national parks. A list of those 75 parks is below the map on this page.

When the Game and Feral Animal Control Act was passed through parliament 27 June 2012, only 48 metropolitan parks were definitively exempt from having any hunting activity in them. This means that under the Coalition Government, a total of 731 parks or reserves are vulnerable to being opened up to recreational hunting activity in NSW.

Map of the parks where hunting will take place

Green: National Park land where hunting is specifically not allowed under the new laws
Orange: National Park land where hunting is allowed at the Ministers discretion.
Red: National Park land where hunting is expected to start in 2013

75 Parks being considered for declaration to allow recreational hunting

Abercrombie River National Park
Bald Rock National Park
Barrington Tops National Park
Barrington Tops State Conservation Area
Basket Swamp National Park
Benambra National Park
Big Bush Nature Reserve
Boginderra Hills Nature Reserve
Boonoo Boonoo National Park
Brindabella National Park
Buddigower Nature Reserve
Butterleaf State Conservation Area
Cataract State Conservation Area
Cocopara Nature Reserve
Coolah Tops National Park
Coolbadggie Nature Reserve
Dorrigo National Park (Note: Hunting will be excluded from the part of this park which is world heritage area)
Gibraltar Nature Reserve
Gibraltar Range National Park (Note: Hunting will be excluded from the part of this park which is world heritage area)
Goonawarra Nature Reserve
Goonoo CCA Zone 1 National Park
Goonoo CCA Zone 3 State Conservation Area
Goulburn River National Park
Gubbata Nature Reserve
Gundabooka National Park
Gundabooka State Conservation Area
Ingalba Nature Reserve
Jerilderie Nature Reserve
Kajuligah Nature Reserve
Kemendok Nature Reserve
Kosciuszko National Park (excluding ski fields)
Lachlan Valley Nature Reserve
Lake Urana Nature Reserve
Langtree Nature Reserve
Ledknapper Nature Reserve
Loughnan Nature Reserve
Macquarie Marshes Nature Reserve
Mallee Cliffs National Park
Morton National Park
Mount Canobolas State Conservation Area
Mount Hyland State Conservation Area
Mullion Range State Conservation Area
Murray Valley National Park
Murrumbidgee Valley Nature Reserve (Note: there are two parts of this nature reserve and both are listed)
Murrumbidgee Valley State Conservation Area
Myall Lakes National Park
Narrandera Nature Reserve
Nearie Lake Nature Reserve
Nightcap National Park (Note: Hunting will be excluded from the part of this park which is world heritage area)
Nocoleche Nature Reserve
Nombinnie Nature Reserve
Nombinnie State Conservation Area
Nowendoc National Park
Oxley Wild Rivers National Park (Note: Hunting will be excluded from the part of this park which is world heritage area)
Paroo-Darling National Park
Paroo-Darling State Conservation Area
Pilliga East CCA Zone 3 State Conservation Area
Piliga Nature Reserve
Pilliga West CCA Zone 1 National Park
Pucawan Nature Reserve
Pulletop Nature Reserve
Quanda Nature Reserve
Round Hill Nature Reserve
South East Forests National Park
Tallaganda National Park
Tarawi Nature Reserve
The Charcoal Tank Nature Reserve
Torrington State Conservation Area
Turon National Park
Wadbilliga National Park
Warrumbungle National Park
Watagans National Park
Watsons Creek State Conservation Area
Werrikimbe State Conservation Area
Woomargama National Park
Yathong Nature Reserve

Please note, the Office of Environment and Heritage reported in June 2013 that Richmond Range National Park and Yabbra National Park are no longer being considered for possible declaration by the Minister for Environment and Heritage. They are subject to an Indigenous Land Use Agreement between the NSW Govt and the Githabul Aboriginal Corporation.

48 Parks where hunting will not take place
This leaves 731 parks or reserves being opened up to the hunting program. This can be done at the discretion of the NSW Minister for Environment.

Blue Mountains National Park
Bouddi National Park
Brisbane Water National Park
Cattai National Park
Dharawal National Park
Dharug National Park
Garigal National Park
Georges River National Park
Heathcote National Park
Kamay Botany Bay National Park
Ku-ring-gai Chase National Park
Lane Cove National Park
Marramarra National Park
Popran National Park
Royal National Park
Scheyville National Park
Sydney Harbour National Park
Thirlmere Lakes National Park
Wollemi National Park
Yengo National Park
Agnes Banks Nature Reserve
Castlereagh Nature Reserve
Dalrymple-Hay Nature Reserve
Dharawal Nature Reserve
Georges River Nature Reserve
Gulguer Nature Reserve
Kemps Creek Nature Reserve
Mulgoa Nature Reserve
Muogamarra Nature Reserve
Newington Nature Reserve
Pitt Town Nature Reserve
Prospect Nature Reserve
Towra Point Nature Reserve
Wallumatta Nature Reserve
Wambina Nature Reserve
Wianamatta Nature Reserve
Windsor Downs Nature Reserve
Berowra Valley Regional Park
Leacock Regional Park
Rouse Hill Regional Park
William Howe Regional Park
Wolli Creek Regional Park
Yellomundee Regional Park
Bents Basin State Conservation Area
Dharawal State Conservation Area
Garawarra State Conservation Area
Maroota Ridge State Conservation Area
Parr State Conservation Area

Parks (or part of parks) within a World Heritage Area where hunting will not take place
Barrington Tops National Park
Border Ranges National Park
Captains Creek Nature Reserve
Cunnawarra National Park
Dorrigo National Park
Gibraltar Range National Park
Iluka Nature Reserve
Koreelah National Park
Limpinwood Nature Reserve
Mallanganee National Park
Mebbin National Park
Mount Clunie National Park
Mount Hyland Nature Reserve
Mount Nothofagus National Park
Mount Royal National Park
Mount Seaview Nature Reserve
New England National Park
Nightcap National Park
Numinbah Nature Reserve
Oxley Wild Rivers National Park
Richmond Range National Park
The Castles Nature Reserve
Tooloom National Park
Toonumbar National Park
Washpool National Park
Werrikimbe National Park
Willi Willi National Park
Wollumbin National Park
Gondwana Rainforests of Australia
Blue Mountains National Park
Gardens of Stone National Park
Jenolan Karst Conservation Reserve
Kanangra-Boyd National Park
Nattai National Park
Thirlmere Lakes National Park
Wollemi National Park
Yengo National Park
Mungo National Park
Lord Howe Island Marine Park

Wilderness areas have also been excluded.